Style the Trend #5– The Trench Coat

stylethetrend

Hello everyone! It’s Erin once again, with a new ‘Style the Trend’ post! So let’s get started! Today I will be showing you how to style the……

trenchcoat

Trench coat! So basically, this is a very needed Autumn thing, so I figured why not put it on ‘Style the Trend’? Trench coats, often are mysterious, but if you glam them up, they can be super cute and pretty!

trenchcoat1

Crop top + Skirt + Trench Coat=  A Cute and Flirty Look

In this style… I decided to go for a kind of flirty look, without it being too extravagant. I wanted to subtly bring out a kind of mysterious and sexy look at the top, but with the plaid skirt making it  less sexy and more cute.

Tips on how to get this style: Grab a light tan trench coat, and pair it with a cutesy skirt, that has colour, and add a dark crop top. I do recommend sticking with the pattern of having the skirt being pattered, and having the top be darkly coloured, because I think that it looks better than switching it around, and having the pattern on top will bring more attention to your bust instead of the whole outfit.

How to accessorize this style:  I recommend you keep accessories simple and only as stud earrings or a bracelet. No necklaces because once again we don’t want to draw attention there, we want it to be on the outfit and not necessarily your chest.

For shoes I recommend some sort of high heels. I really like these cute dark brown booties, because I think they add some contrast to the red and black in the outfit! If you don’t have any high heeled booties, I do say just go for a high heel because it will add that element of sexiness.

trenchcoat2

Dress + Trench Coat=  A Girly and Gorgeous Look

In this style… I wanted to go for a really contrasted look. I wanted the trench coat to be the exact opposite of the dress. While the dress is a girly and pretty floral print, I wanted the trench coat to be dark tan, and slightly mysterious.

Tips on how to get this style: To achieve this pretty look. I do recommend using a patterned dress, and a dark trench coat. I suppose you could use a patterned trench coat, and a dark dress, but I don’t think it would give off the same look!

How to accessorize this style: Since there aren’t much textures going on with this outfit, feel free to add either a long necklace (past the bust), or a necklace that just hits your chest (no chokers!). No accent necklaces, since we are using a patterned dress, and those two don’t go along too well in my opinion.

For shoes I went with a classic black heel, because I thought it just blended in with the rest of the outfit and that is exactly what I wanted!

So that’s it for this ‘Style the Trend’! If you have any ideas for the next one either comment or email us at stylingataglance@gmail.com !

Remember! For birthday week (which is in around a week!) I need to feature two (or more) people on Saturday! All you have to do is create a birthday outfit (a look you would wear on your birthday!) and email it to me at stylingataglance@gmail.com ! It can either be designed on Polyvore (if so send me the link!) , or be a picture of an outfit! Whatever it is send it to me and make sure to give me either your blog name or your polyvore name, or anything (even social media names like twitter, I would love that). If we don’t get more than two people who have done so, I will unfortunately not be able to feature anyone so  please do so!

-Erinxx

2 thoughts on “Style the Trend #5– The Trench Coat

Leave a comment